BBC Sound of… Where is the Diversity?

Hello everyone! Hope you’re well.

Every year the BBC (British Broadcasting Company for those across the pond) recognize a new, upcoming artist who they personally believe have potential be huge in the coming year. Recently they’ve just announced the winner of Sound of 2016 to be Jack Garrett, an extremely talented musician and no doubt worthy of the title. There’s already been a thousand articles praising him so I’m going to tackle the issue I see with the whole BBC Sound of.

The two biggest issues I have are, where are all the bands and where’s the diversity?! This year there was one band on the list who went by the name Blossoms, that’s it. Everyone else was a solo artist or collective of artists. Is this because there was simply a lack of bands to emerge this year? Is the lack of diversity because of the BBC preferring one type of music over the other? Is this enough thought-provoking questions to get you to carry on? Right, let’s get on with this!

More Diversity Please:

Right, let’s get one thing straight. There is tons of diversity within types of music and I also can’t stand the classic phrase ‘It all sounds the same…’ Honestly it makes me wanna slap the ignorance out of whoever says it because nothing sounds the same. Even people making awful rip off versions of songs don’t sound the same as originals. The reason why I’m saying this is because I know those who enjoy the style of music that it is present will say that there is already diversity and that brings me into my wider point.

I want diversity that covers a ton of genres! I want everything possible represented. Give me Rap, Metal, Hip-Hop, Pop-Punk, all of it! If you’re going to be putting out a list that is the sound of a year then surely it should include as many sounds of that year as possible. Here’s an example of how little diversity there really is. Six out of the fifteen have the genre ‘Pop’ in their PR line and five have the term ‘R&B’ or ‘Rap’. That’s 73% of the list put into three (very similar) genres. Yes diversity exists within genres as stated but I want diversity of genres.

BBC, I hear your adverts on Spotify all the time, you preach to me that you want to show us new music and that you’re the number one place for new music. Why don’t make good on what you claim and show us something new and something different most importantly. Every single winner falls under one of three categories, ‘Pop, Rap or R&B’.  There’s been one artist that has a hint of heavy in them, that being Enter Shikari, who still use synths and dance elements in their songs, they came fifth for those interested.

Is there a clear bias within the BBC as to what wins? I’m not going to claim anything but I will say that in the rules, that I found in a simple Google search, that they hold the right to disqualify any artist if they deem it fit too. Take that as you will. The real problem though is that it punishes bands and artists who gain success on their own. If you release an album, you won’t be on the list and BBC will pretend that you don’t exist. If you breakout by yourself then they won’t have any part of you, the BBC only want artists that they can break themselves and therefore claim that they did it.

More Bands Please:

The second biggest issue is that they always favor solo artists over bands. Need evidence? Well, there have been fourteen winners and two of those have been bands… What’s so wrong with bands BBC? Why are they such a rarity both on your list and as winners? Solo artists are great yes, I’m not disputing that but bands are just as good. There have been hundred upon hundred of fantastic bands to come out over fourteen years and you’ve deemed to acceptable to praise two of them? Two?! Change is needed, let’s have some equality within this list.

I not advertising for there to be seven bands and eight solo artists. I understand that most solo artists will not release an album or go on tour before they find success whereas a band is much more likely to try do everything themselves. Seriously though, give his three or four bands on the list. Just more than one and I’ll be happier.

To Finish:

I understand that the list isn’t aimed at me and that it is for the mainstream audience. That doesn’t mean that it shouldn’t be for me though and there needs to be more diversity within it. We are in an age where everyone, every culture and everything is becoming more accepted and praised. Why can’t we continue this revolution in mainstream music. I’m not asking for niche genres to be on prime time radio, what I’m asking for is the chance for those listening to hear something different that they wouldn’t normally hear.

BBC, you have no advertisers to keep happy, no sponsors demanding results so please, take a chance and give everyone the opportunity to hear something new and ultimately decide for ourselves what we like. The Sound of… list has so much potential to give everyone something new and every time it’s the same, you can be better and we should expect more.

Thanks for reading and as always, stay awesome!

Mess Matty
YouTube: http://bit.ly/1lcfaAP
Twitter: http://bit.ly/1XfuNZS

Leave a comment