Dawn Of Justice | Adventears | Review

Dawn Of Justice are Melodic Ambient Metalcore band from France. Their latest release, Adventears, is their second E.P after previously releasing a debut E.P and album. It’s available for you to pay what you like on Bandcamp or on iTunes for £4.74.

Review:

I like to discover new music and since I’ve started reviewing albums I decided to take the time to find and review some lesser known albums between the big releases. So I found myself on the new arrivals section of Bandcamp in the Metalcore section. Most of the time I expect to hear sub-par, distorted music that has been thrown up in hopes of making a little bit of money. However sometimes you discover something that just makes you sit back and remember why you love music in the first place. Dawn of Justice’s Adventears is the record that blew me away.

The first thing I saw was the beautiful, vibrant artwork among the typical metal blacks and grey’s. The intro to the E.P is beautiful and sets the tone for the record perfectly. It’s calming, yet you feel this rising tension before the first song, ‘Styx’, kicks in. The opening track is a perfect mix between echoing riffs and heavy guitars, it fills up your speakers and just has a certain sound to it that makes you sit back and listen. It demands your attention from the first note to the last.

The vocals at first sound like the standard screaming that we’ve all become accustomed to but as the songs progress they become so much more melodic while keeping the harshness. They fit in perfectly, whether it’s as part of the heaviest breakdowns or part of the more ambient areas, they just work so flawlessly. The guitars either sit nicely in the mix with the bass or echo out riffs that contrast so well with the heaviness of the music.

As always though, there are some things I will pick at that just don’t quite do it for me. Including the intro, there are two extended ambient sections that for me, just go on a bit too long. I’d much prefer hearing the softer parts more involved in the songs rather than as extended intros. This is a personal taste issue though, for some they will love the ambient feeling before the storm.

My only other criticism, is that given the much more melodic feel that echo’s throughout the record it makes the breakdowns feel less needed and more like they are there because a metalcore band needs breakdowns. I’d love to see them break away from the traditional scream into a break down and focus on the melodic ambient side while still incorporating the metal edge.

Those are only minor points though. I absolutely love this E.P and am incredibly happy that I’ve found them. They hold true to the genre they’re within, while masterfully incorporating different feels and sounds. In a world where nothing is unique, they truly standout.

8/10 – Must Buy. 

Mess Matty:
YouTube: http://bit.ly/1lcfaAP 
Twitter: http://bit.ly/1XfuNZS 

Leave a comment